Strong Defense From DUI Charges
A driving under the influence (DUI) charge in Illinois can have a serious effect on your personal liberty and your ability to drive. It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or another drug, or while having a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or more.
If you live in Iowa, charges are referred to as operating while intoxicated (OWI). Exact penalties may vary from those in Illinois, but either charge can severely impact the individual facing charges.
If you are charged with DUI, call our experienced legal team at 309-734-1001 to schedule a free case consultation.
Severe Potential Penalties
The criminal penalties for a DUI are serious. A DUI conviction is accompanied by a full year of revoked driving privileges and suspended vehicle registration. You may also face high fines and possible jail time depending upon the circumstances of your case, such as whether a minor was in your car at the time of arrest, or if your BAC was over .16. Subsequent convictions increase the severity of your penalties. A second offense carries required community service hours, and your driving privileges are revoked for at least five years. Discuss additional potential penalties with our experienced DUI attorneys.
Deferred Judgments Can Protect Your Record
You may qualify for a deferred judgment (also called Court Supervision in Illinois) under certain circumstances. A deferred judgment is an alternate form of sentencing that allows the court to postpone conviction until you have completed the requirements of your sentence. If you successfully complete all of the requirements, the court will dismiss the DUI charge, and it will not go on your record as a “conviction.” However, the court may enter a conviction if it finds that you have not completed all of the requirements. You will need an aggressive and knowledgeable DUI attorney to argue that you deserve a deferred judgment successfully.
Protect Your Driving Privileges
A driver’s license suspension can be just as debilitating as a jail sentence or fine. You have the opportunity to appeal your license suspension, but you must act quickly, or you will forfeit that right. A first conviction is accompanied by a minimum revocation period of one year.
If you are convicted of DUI, your license will be revoked, not just suspended. A lengthier revocation period may be imposed depending on the specific circumstances of your case. Some of the facts considered in determining your revocation period include previous DUI convictions, whether someone was injured, your blood alcohol level, whether your license was suspended or revoked, and if young persons were in the vehicle when you were arrested. Call Gullberg Law, LLC to help you on your way to license reinstatement.
Gaining A Temporary Restricted License
In some cases, you may be eligible for a Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP). Your eligibility for a MDDP depends on several factors. The primary factor is whether you are deemed to be a First Offender. For this purpose a First Offender is someone who has not been convicted of DUI in the last 5 years, regardless of convictions over 5 years old. Our attorneys can help you apply for an MDDP if you need one.
Statutory Summary Suspension
In Illinois your license will be suspended 46 days after your arrest without a hearing. You can move the Court to rescind the suspension based on the propriety of the traffic stop and whether probable cause existed for your arrest. In addition, your license cannot be suspended if you were on private property before the police observed your vehicle and this forms another basis to rescind the suspension. This motion must be filed within 90 days after your arrest, but to be effective in avoiding the 46 day suspension, there is no time to loose. Contact Gullberg Law, LLC right away after your arrest.
Contact Our Experienced Attorneys To Defend Your Rights
Let our experienced DUI lawyers at Gullberg Law, LLC aggressively defend your personal liberty, constitutional rights and driver’s license. Call our offices at 309-734-1001 to schedule a free case consultation, or email us today. We serve Monmouth, Galesburg, Rock Island and the surrounding towns and areas.