Free Consultation (309) 734 -1001

Our Blog

Slower Speeding to Become Potential Jail Time in Illinois

Driving 26 mph Over the Speed Limit Now a Class B Misdemeanor
SPEEDERS BEWARE: Driving 26 mph in excess of the speed limit will now be a Class B misdemeanorin Illinois, effective January 1, 2014. The legislature amended the law to lower the cut-off speed from 31 mph to 26 mph.

In the same vein, driving 35 mph in excess of the speed limit will now be a Class A misdemeanor; the former cut-off speed for a Class A misdemeanor was 40 mph. Public Act 098-0511; 625 ILCS 5/11-601.5.

The maximum penalty for a Class A misdemeanor is $2,500 and 365 days in jail.
The maximum penalty for a Class B misdemeanor is $1,500 and 180 days in jail.

You should think twice before pleading guilty to any of these offenses without the benefit of representation.